Wishlist Wednesday

Wednesday, September 29, 2010 | | 0 comments ♥

Grace Divine made the ultimate sacrifice to cure Daniel Kalbi. She was infected with the werewolf curse while trying to save him, and lost her beloved brother in the process. When Grace receives a haunting phone call from Jude, she knows what she must do. She must become a Hound of Heaven.
Desperate to find Jude, Grace befriends Talbot—a newcomer to town who promises her that he can help her be a hero. But as the two grow closer, the wolf grows in Grace, and her relationship with Daniel is put in danger—in more ways than one.
Unaware of the dark path she is walking, Grace begins to give into the wolf inside of her—not realizing that an enemy has returned and a deadly trap is about to be sprung.
So I might be one of the few that didn't LOVE The Dark Divine (review here)but I am willing to give the sequel a try. I'm keeping my fingers crossed the quality of the writing improves.

Plus, these covers are positively gorgeous. Even if I don't enjoy the book itself, I will always be able to drool over the cover. ;)

<3 Cate

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins Review (Spoiler-Free)

Monday, September 27, 2010 | | 2 comments ♥
The third and final installment of The Hunger Games series. If you haven't heard of it before, don't waste time feeling ashamed. Go pick yourself up a copy.












The first two-thirds of Mockingjay were torturous. Not that those chapters were terrible (they weren't by any means,) but it was so hard to have to wait to find out what happened. Some bits were boring, but the story gently rolled along until the last third. That's when it kicked in for me. The action began, you feel that tell-tale rush you get when Suzanne Collins is on her game. Mockingjay didn't disappoint. Only, in this one, each loss felt increasingly heartbreaking. There were points where literally it was blow after blow after blow; it became emotionally overwhelming. But, it was in those moments that you had to applaud Collins. She knows how to write a tough, strong female character. Katniss, even when she was broken, didn't bother to fix herself, not even attempt. She just did what was needed. She pulled it together, even when there wasn't anything to pull together. Impressive.

I loved the epilogue, especially the last line. It was perfectly imperfect. I wish there had been more explanation for what Katniss chose with Gale and Peeta. It felt rushed almost, wrapped up too quickly. I had never personally been able to choose between the two, but what Katniss decided felt right. I liked the ending, even though it seemed a bit jagged. There needed to be strings attached.

Rating: 9.5/10 (for those boring bits at the beginning. The end made up for it though.)

Under the Lamplight: Melanie from Melanie's Musings

Friday, September 24, 2010 | | 2 comments ♥

Blog Link: www.melaniesmusings.net

Could you give a little blurb on your blog?
Melanie's Musings is an eclectic book blog where I review books of many genres, with an emphasis on YA.

What got you hooked on reading- did you love it as a child, or was it something you grew into?
My dad's a big reader. It runs in the family, along with insanity.

How were you introduced into the blogging world?
Through the awesome www.randombuzzers.com. Some of the folks in the forum were talking about their book blogs, and after reading a few, I knew I wanted to give it a shot.

What’s been the most fun or exciting thing you’ve been able to do on your blog lately?
Since it's summertime, I've really just been enjoying how much time I'm able to spend on my blog without feeling guilty about it. It feels good to start feeling on top of things again!

What’s your opinion of books made into movies? Love ‘em or Hate ‘em? Love 'em! Even though the books are almost always better, I love 'em. If I had it my way, everyone would be mandated to read then watch North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell and then Little Dorrit by Charles Dickens. Although those are actually mini-series. Still, you should watch them!

You can only afford to purchase one book at the bookstore today. What do you choose?
Everlasting by Angie Frazier- from what I hear, the romance in the book is great. And I love me some romance.


What’s your favorite guilty-pleasure T.V. show?
Glee- The music is amazing, but the plot gets so completely ridiculous at times.

What is one thing that most people don’t know about you?
I hate surprises, especially when I know there's a surprise coming, and no one will tell me what it is. They get me paranoid.

If your life were being made into a movie, what would it be called, and who would you cast?
Would it have to be true to life? If so, I have no idea. However, if it could be some alternate universe that slightly resembles my life but not really, I'd love for Amanda Seyfried, Amy Adams, Anne Hathaway, and Meryl Streep to all have some part. Also, could I have a charming, adorable male lead. Please?

Wishlist Wednesday

Wednesday, September 22, 2010 | | 3 comments ♥
A story about getting into college. You know, taking the campus tour, talking to the gargoyles, flirting with the were-tigers, riding the dragons...

While visiting the campus of Princeton University, 16-year-old Lily discovers a secret gate to a magical realm and must race against time to save herself, her world, and any hope she has of college admission.
I'll admit, while I have a copy of Sarah Beth Durst's Ice, I have yet to read it. I've heard so many great things about her as a writer, I just haven't gotten around to it! Enchanted Ivy (love the play on words) looks awesome, and the cover art is amazing. Just the synopsis makes it sound like you're wandering into a fantastically magical world. Cannot wait!

<3 Cate

NEW LAYOUT!!!!

Tuesday, September 21, 2010 | | 10 comments ♥
Hi Everyone!

I just wanted give a shout-out to the very lovely Shay Bocks of Dumplin Design Studios! She created my gorgeous new layout; I hope you like it! Please take a button, which is on the right sidebar, I'd really appreciate it!

Thanks so much!
<3 Cate

Rae by Chelsea Rae Swiggett Review

Monday, September 20, 2010 | | 3 comments ♥
Rae is beyond socially awkward.
Since she was a little girl, Rae knew something was different about her. The sound of planes flying overhead could spark a panic attack. Being called on in class was enough to push her over the edge. She feared the unknown, life, death, people . . . even fear itself.

By the time she reached ninth grade, Rae was muddling through life in relative silence, convinced everyone was mocking her, judging her, picking her apart, bit by little bit. Rae knew she couldn’t keep going on this way. She knew something had to give.
This book is near and dear to the heart of many book bloggers, as it was penned by our very own Chelsea of The Page Flipper. So after winning Rae in a contest, I was completely ecstatic to dive in.

In person, I would consider myself very shy. I don't raise my hand in class, I'm no good at small talk, and I absolutely HATE presentations. There was one passage in Rae that follows her thoughts throughout the day leading up to a class presentation. The only thing that ran through my mind was "That's me! That's exactly how I feel!" And, honestly, I don't think I'm the only one who will find her story relatable- everyone has been socially awkward. After you make that personal connection with Rae, the story skyrockets. It's a quick read- about 150 pages- but it became riveting. I really hope Chelsea continues to write. I'd pick up her next book in a heartbeat.

Also, can I say how much I loved the Gilmore Girls references? Check plus!

Rating: 8/10

Wishlist Wednesday

Wednesday, September 15, 2010 | | 1 comments ♥
Some schools have honor codes.
Others have handbooks.
Themis Academy has the Mockingbirds.

Themis Academy is a quiet boarding school with an exceptional student body that the administration trusts to always behave the honorable way--the Themis Way. So when Alex is date raped during her junior year, she has two options: stay silent and hope someone helps her, or enlist the Mockingbirds--a secret society of students dedicated to righting the wrongs of their fellow peers.
I'm kind of just blown away by the premise of this novel, and I am so beyond intrigued it's ridiculous! A group of high school vigilantes getting their revenge. Being in high school, sometimes you wish there was a way to get back at everyone who's wronged you. I guess if you can't do it in real life, you may as well live vicariously through someone else. ;) Definitely one worth waiting for.

<3 Cate

In My Mailbox

Sunday, September 5, 2010 | | 9 comments ♥
In My Mailbox was created by the lovely Kristi at The Story Siren.

This week was actually a busier one for me in terms of books! I about a few, I recieved a few, and I was able to go to the library. :)

Bought: I know I'm really behind as far as getting my hands on this book. I had requested it from the library- as number 480 on the queue- and decided I was too impatient to wait for it! I'm only a few pages in, but I realized I've missed Katniss' story so much. :)

Put me in front of the classics display and Barnes and Noble and I'll buy just about anything. Hence the Virginia Woolf novel, haha.

For Review:
I'm SO EXCITED for this book. And the cover is so shiny! I'm ready to dive in!

From 1 ARC Tours:
How will I get any work done this week? So many good reads!

From the Library:
I've seen this cover around the blogosphere a lot, but I haven't seen any reviews yet (or more probably I just haven't been looking in the right places.) I'm lovin' that faeries are so popular in YA now.

I had seen that Nicole at Word for Teens (on her blog or her Twitter, I don't remember...) that she had loved Unwind. Then I saw this on the shelf and snatched it up!

Have a lovely weekend!
<3 Cate
Newer Posts Older Posts Home